St. Ignatius NYC Logo

Saint Ignatius of Antioch Episcopal Church

An Episcopal Church in the Anglo-Catholic Tradition Where All Are Welcome

Lent and Holy Week at Saint Ignatius

Solemn Mass is now taking place only in person. We continue to offer the daily offices online.



Lent with George

Monday, February 19 Lenten Feria
9:00 P.M. Compline Join Zoom here

Tuesday, February 20 Frederick Douglas, 1895
6:00 P.M. Evening Prayer Join Zoom here

Wednesday, February 21 Ember Day
6:00 P.M. Evening Prayer Join Zoom here

Thursday, February 22 Lenten Feria
6:00 P.M. Evening Prayer Join Zoom here

Friday, February 23 Ember Day
12:00 NOON The Great Litany Join Zoom here
6:00 P.M. Stations of the Cross and Benediction of the Blessed Sacrament (Please join us in person)

Saturday, February 24 Saint Matthais the Apostle
10:30 A.M. Ordination of seminarian Flourish Klink to the Sacred Order of Deacons (This service is at The Cathedral Church of St. John the Divine)
2:00 P.M. Prayers and Memorials for William L. Farris (Please join us in person) 2:30 P.M. Requiem Mass for the Repose of the Soul of William L. Farris (Please join us in person)

Sunday, February 25 The Second Sunday in Lent
Please join us in person
8:30 A.M. Low Mass
9:15 A.M. Bible Study (meet in the Undercroft)
10:30 A.M. Procession and Solemn Mass. The Choir will offer the music of the mass and sing the traditional Lenten plainsong ordinary of the mass, Kyrie salve, and the motet Meditabor in mandatis tuis by Orlande de Lassus (c.1532-1594).
Coffee Hour follows the 10:30 mass
12:30 P.M. Rector’s Forum: The Liturgies of Holy Week (Meet in the Undercroft following Coffee Hour)
3:00 P.M. Concert: ARTEK Money, Misery, Music: French Chansons
16th century French chansons with singers including Richard Pittsinger and Peter Becker of the Saint Ignatius Choir. Also featuring the Renaissance wind ensemble The New York Waytes.
Tickets: $50 preferred, $25 regular, $15 Click here. Discount for Saint Ignatius parishoners: use code ARTEK10

Monday, February 26 Lenten Feria
9:00 P.M. Compline Join Zoom here

Tuesday, February 27 George Herbert, Priest, 1633
6:00 P.M. Evening Prayer Join Zoom here

Wednesday, February 28 Anna Julia Hayward Cooper, Educator, 1964
6:00 P.M. Evening Prayer Join Zoom here

Thursday, February 29 Lenten Feria
6:00 P.M. Evening Prayer Join Zoom here

Friday, March 1 David of Wales, Bishop, ca. 344
12:00 NOON The Great Litany Join Zoom here
6:00 P.M. Stations of the Cross and Benediction of the Blessed Sacrament (Please join us in person)

Saturday, March 2 Chad, Bishop of Litchfield, 672
2:00 P.M. Visit to “Africa and Byzantium” at the Metropolitan Museum of Art with Dr. Warren T. Woodfin. Space is limited to 10 per Museum policy Please email if you are interested.
6:15 P.M. Pre-Concert lecture
7:00 P.M. Concert: ARTEK After the Fire: Music of Erlebach
Baroque chamber music and sacred songs from the rarely-heard German composer Philipp Heinrich Erlebach featuring Cynthia Freivogel, violin; Arnie Tanimoto, viola da gamba; and Laurie Heims, soprano.
Tickets: $50 preferred, $25 regular, $15 Click here. Discount for Saint Ignatius parishoners: use code ARTEK10

Sunday, March 3 The Third Sunday in Lent
Please join us in person
8:30 A.M. Low Mass
9:15 A.M. Bible Study (meet in the undercroft)
10:30 A.M. Procession and Solemn Mass. The Choir will offer the music of the mass and sing the traditional Lenten plainsong ordinary of the mass, Kyrie salve
Coffee Hour follows the 10:30 mass
12:30 P.M. Rector’s Forum: The Liturgies of Holy Week (Meet in the Undercroft following Coffee Hour)
3:00 P.M. Concert: Cerddorion In Praise of Palestrina, Stanford & Bruckner
A program celebratinganniversaries of three great choral composers
Click here for information and tickets.

Monday, March 4 Lenten Feria
9:00 P.M. Compline Join Zoom here

Tuesday, March 5 Lenten Feria
6:00 P.M. Evening Prayer Join Zoom here
6:30 P.M. Adult Education (Please join us in person): The world is charged with the grandeur of God: Five great Anglican and Jesuit poets in four evenings at St. Ignatius: T. S. Eliot. Presented by Constance Vidor and Stephanie Cowell.

Wednesday, March 6 Lenten Feria
6:00 P.M. Evening Prayer Join Zoom here

Thursday, March 7 Perpetua and her Companions, Martyrs, 202
6:00 P.M. Evening Prayer Join Zoom here

Friday, March 8 Lenten Feria
12:00 NOON The Great Litany Join Zoom here
6:00 P.M. Stations of the Cross and Benediction of the Blessed Sacrament (Please join us in person)
7:30 P.M. Concert: TENET Vocal Artists Stabat Mater: An intimate performance of a seminal work for Lent.

Saturday, March 9 Gregory of Nyssa, Bishop, ca. 394
6:30 P.M. Pre-Concert Lecture
7:30 P.M. Concert: Polyhymnia Three Cities – Munich, Vienna, Prague. Motets by Handl, Lassus, de Monte, and Vaet

Sunday, March 10 The Fourth Sunday in Lent (Laetare)
Please join us in person
8:30 A.M. Low Mass
9:15 A.M. Bible Study (meet in the Undercroft)
10:30 A.M. Procession and Solemn Mass. The Choir will offer the music of the mass and sing the traditional Lenten plainsong ordinary of the mass, Kyrie salve
Coffee Hour follows the 10:30 mass
12:30 P.M. Rector’s Forum: The Liturgies of Holy Week (Meet in the Undercroft following Coffee Hour)

Monday, March 11 Lenten Feria
9:00 P.M. Compline Join Zoom here

Tuesday, March 12 Gregory the Great, Bishop, 604
6:00 P.M. Evening Prayer Join Zoom here

Wednesday, March 13 Lenten Feria
6:00 P.M. Evening Prayer Join Zoom here

Thursday, March 14 Lenten Feria
6:00 P.M. Evening Prayer Join Zoom here

Friday, March 15 Lenten Feria
12:00 NOON The Great Litany Join Zoom here
6:00 P.M. Stations of the Cross and Benediction of the Blessed Sacrament (Please join us in person)

Saturday, March 16 Lenten Feria

Sunday, March 17 The Fifth Sunday in Lent
Please join us in person
8:30 A.M. Low Mass
9:15 A.M. Bible Study (meet in the Undercroft)
10:30 A.M. Procession and Solemn Mass. The Choir will offer the music of the mass and sing the traditional Lenten plainsong ordinary of the mass, Kyrie salve
Coffee Hour follows the 10:30 mass

Monday, March 18 Cyril of Jerusalem, Bishop, 386
9:00 P.M. Compline Join Zoom here

Tuesday, March 19 Saint Jospeh
6:00 P.M. Evening Prayer Join Zoom here

Wednesday, March 20 Cuthbert, Bishop of Lindisfarne, 687
6:00 P.M. Evening Prayer Join Zoom here

Thursday, March 21 James de Koven, Priest, 1879
6:00 P.M. Evening Prayer Join Zoom here

Friday, March 22 Thomas Ken, Bishop of Bath and Wells, 1711
12:00 NOON The Great Litany Join Zoom here
6:00 P.M. Stations of the Cross and Benediction of the Blessed Sacrament (Please join us in person)

Saturday, March 23 Gregory the Illuminator, Bishop and Missionary, ca. 332

Sunday, March 24 The Sunday of the Passion: Palm Sunday
Please join us in person
8:30 A.M. Low Mass
9:15 A.M. Bible Study (meet in the Undercroft)
10:30 A.M. Procession and Solemn Mass. The Choir will offer the music of the mass and sing the traditional Lenten plainsong ordinary of the mass, Kyrie salve
Coffee Hour follows the 10:30 mass

Monday, March 25 Monday in Holy Week
9:00 P.M. Compline Join Zoom here

Tuesday, March 26 Tuesdayin Holy Week
6:00 P.M. Evening Prayer Join Zoom here

Wednesday, March 27 Wednesday in Holy Week
6:00 P.M. Evening Prayer Join Zoom here

Thursday, March 28 Maundy Thursday
Please join us in person
6:00 P.M. Evening Prayer Join Zoom here
7:00 P.M. Solemn Mass and the Washing of Feet
Please consider signing up for The Watch overnight following mass

Friday, March 29 Good Friday
Please join us in person
12:00 NOON The Liturgy of Good Friday

Saturday, March 30 Holy Saturday / Easter Eve
Please join us in person
9:00 P.M. Great Vigil and First Mass of Easter

Sunday, March 31 The Sunday of the Resurrection: Easter Day
Please join us in person
8:30 A.M. Low Mass
9:15 A.M. Bible Study (meet in the Undercroft)
10:30 A.M. Procession and Solemn Mass. The Choir will offer the music of the mass
Coffee Hour follows the 10:30 mass

Back to Top


For further information please contact the parish office.